Well a lot has been said about the conduit, but its hard to begin, I’ve never written a review of a game but this isn’t supposed to be one.

The Conduit was a game that I had been looking forward to for a long time, it was the sort of game I have wanted to play on Wii since it’s release. The build up to it was long and HVS did a great job of keeping the game in the public eye during its development. We were promised a lot of things by Eric Nofsinger, he seemed to have tapped into what the Wii core wanted and was telling them that HE was going to deliver, but did he?

Eric Nofsinger with Cliff Bleszinski

Eric Nofsinger with Cliff Bleszinski


The single player campaign had its highlights, the story was a bit hear nor there, though based upon conspiracy theories what else could we expect. I couldn’t help but feel a bit of Perfect Dark influences throughout, and of course I’m talking about the N64 original. The story for what it was did help to carry you through the game and gave some sort of reason why you were doing what you were doing, what I would have hoped for was a bit of cut scene flair rather than just some shadowy character talking to you. The story again did end very abruptly, here I was ready for a big fight against the person I was chasing but all of a sudden, that’s it. Game over, see you next time. I cant help but feel a bit short changed by that as I don’t quite feel as though the game had an epic defining moment of boss fight. There were different bigger aliens to battle but none of them felt like a boss or mini-boss, as my tactic was to hang onto the supercharged weapons found in cavities opened by the All-Seeing-Eye and used them on the bigger enemies. One thing that’s good is the difficulty rating, do you want a challenge, well put it to its highest setting and lets soo how well you fare!

Now onto the graphical prowess that was touted, well overall the game looked well, the weapons were the best modelled ones I’ve seen on a Nintendo system and they had some great aura’s for when they were being charged, but my problem is that it didn’t feel as though HVS gave as much care to the rest of the games visuals. What was evident was the lack of a graphical style, I think that The Conduit would have been more pleasing if it had an overall art direction. Now I’m not saying it has to be like Madworld or Okami, but, as I’m sure this example has been brought up before, look at Metroid Prime. The theme in that game is throughout and looks amazing because of that. Or even look at the new 360 game with its own art styling, Borderlands, I think this game looks amazing, and the weapon design to fit in with the design theme and art style is simply beautiful. There were also a few cheating moments like for example looking out of some of the windows to see a texture of the skyline right in front of the window so close that it wasn’t fooling to the user that it was the skyline.

The controls are the pathway for every game in the future, everything is customisable. If it wasn’t for this the game would have suffered big style, the approach for the custom features aren’t confusing in their depth and easy to adjust for yourself as you please. I found it laudable when a review of The conduit slated the game for its controls failing to realise that it was customisable and then later claimed that their version was pre-release without this feature, when it has been in every copy since it’s first appearance at E3.

Review Demotivational Poster

Review Demotivational Poster

The multiplayer, this is soooo worth it, I cant believe how great the multiplayer is…

when I finally connect to a match that is. I love playing online and it feels great when you get to the 20 kill streak mark with 1000%XP from then on out. The maps are wide and varied, I personally could have wished for more open maps with a sniper rifle and spots to sniper from! But that’s my personal preference. Wiispeak works well when I have a friend online that also has Wiispeak. The predetermined weapon choices are great and varied match types offer a LOT of variety. Although there are quite a few improvements I would want to this. These would be a faster connection time, several times it has taken until the last 20 seconds of the countdown until my system found a match. A lobby system that you can invite friends, and join a public match, you can change match type from Team to Free for all and vote to kick others out from the match. Why the vote? Because of the cheaters. I was loving the online until recently when I encountered massive cheaters who were using unlimited health cheats and unlimited ammo/no reload cheats that totally ruin the match experience! And a voting system to kick users is a quick and easy way for players to combat cheaters. There are also a few glitches that occur now and again where you spawn into a new match and none of the buttons work but when you move your courser to the edge of the screen you can see your character spinning on the spot.

Well overall, this was a great beginning to a game that should be improved upon for a sequel. Improvements I would suggest center around getting more artists to refine the style of the game and design, and also maybe hire the technology person from DICE who designed their Battlefield online system as it is the most flawless system I have ever experienced through Bad Company and 1943. Ok well I’m off to play more online, hopefully I won’t encounter too many more cheaters!

